top of page

TRCK REVIEW: Field Day - Rocket


I stumbled upon this demo on our inbox today. Usually, we're the ones who look for new songs or albums but sometimes some musicians are kind enough to give us a sneak-peak of their upcoming release. I deeply admire artists who go beyond what is expected from them, other than releasing music. Initiatives like these make the music community bigger and allow artists to gain confidence. Let's go to the reason why I've chosen to share my thoughts with this song. Field day is 4-piece 'OPM' alternative band from Manila. The typical band line-up with the rhythm section, drums, and bass, then the guitars and vocals. I'm still not convinced by the use of 'OPM' though, I have some queries and sentiments that I can't seem to ponder. Other than that, I think I'm being nostalgic with my favorite alternative bands like The Smashing Pumpkins and Radiohead. The song is easily understood, the lyrics were uncomplicated like it was written by Lang Leav – but it’s not poetic. It’s about longing for someone, realizing that their presence or company is exactly what you need. It’s not that deep, it’s straightforward and realistic. It’s like parts of a love letter you want to send to your significant other. Their instrumentals actually sound like Oh! Flamingo, I said this as a compliment since we all know how Oh! Flamingo is innovative with their musical elements. Since this is a demo, I won’t punish them with the sound of the vocals, it was layered too deep with the guitars. The chord progression was identifiable by the sections of the song, which was a good idea, especially towards the end. The guitar solos were ample enough to have a ‘recall’ on your brain but it wasn’t as outstanding, it’s memorable but it’s not different. I hope they can master this song properly since the guitar parts were really apparent. I really think bands should invest in mixing and mastering their songs since this will give a huge impact on their output. DIY is okay – but please make the song suitable for other listeners.

Overall, the song is decent especially if it was played alongside Eggboy’s Sana ‘Di Mo Ako Iniiwasan. Months ago, I was told ‘Please listen better.’ by someone who responded in one of the reviews I’ve written for his friends. As much as our reviews are objectively written, we have our set of criteria or standards that determine if this song is produced well. And Field Day’s Rocket helped me to define how released songs determine the ‘best version or the best possible way it can be produced’ in the eyes of an artist. Hence, reviews like this are outside perspectives based on our individual standards or criteria. Listening to better music is a work in progress, bands like Field Day maybe average to some but it helps us to have a grasp or gauge of what is good and what is not. Support the art & the artist by listening to the song down below:

 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page