top of page

TRCK REVIEW: The Sellout Club - U and Me

I have no strong judgement when it comes to pop music, in fact, I love it. We’ve heard a lot of decent local pop releases recently such as Pamcy, Valiant Vermin, Moonwlk, and even Sarah Geronimo. But I was wondering while I was naming out these examples, are there any more pop music outside of the capital? Well, great thing someone referred to this relatively new act.

The Sellout Club are a pop trio coming from Cebu City. Recently they’ve been advertising their music these past few weeks and I was asked to see if these folks have any potential in their material.

Their debut single, “U and Me”, didn’t really live up to my expectations while I was scrolling down on their facebook page. Hearing the rise in the very beginning was disappointing, you get the Chainsmokers type of chopped piano sample, the wonky synths, and the sub bass that only assists this Western EDM influenced songwriting that brings nothing to the table.

To cut this review short, I guess that The Sellout Club’s “U and Me” is another one of those potential one-hit wonders that doesn’t add any depth in their music, or rather, test these young party-goers whose only goal is to lose it in the drop and scream “you and me” in the lyrics in a such tolerable manner.

 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page