top of page

TRCK REVIEW: I BELONG TO THE ZOO - SANA


I Belong to the Zoo is the solo project of Tonight We Sleep frontman Argee Guerrero. Seeing artist names like that, I am reminded of people with a Midwest emo band that end up starting another project. Joking aside, I was genuinely curious by his name and how he was able to score so many shows, sharing with some of the biggest local music acts here in the country. Given that his band had scored some multiple gigs with Mayonnaise or relatively Yellow Room-related. So I decided to tackle his biggest hit yet and maybe say something here in the blog (if anyone was wondering)

From start to finish, “Sana” is exactly what you would expect from the title. His voice does have some potential star material in it but what does it have other than the striking delivery of the lyrics and guitar interludes? Nothing but a barely catchy song that doesn’t even strive to be catchy in its own way, it just rehashes generic songwriting tropes that we’ve heard for the past ten years. I would rather listen to Ben&Ben, knowing that they can write a familiar song but they do it in a very melodically impressive way to make us feel joy and pain at the same time.

Just to wrap up this review, I Belong to the Zoo’s “Sana” wishes all of the people who were hurt from a rocky relationship but it did give promises that this song won’t be anything special but a song that wishes all of the people who were hurt from a rocky relationship. If there’s a hot take incoming, well, I’m going to say it from here on out: I Belong to the Zoo is just a bearded Zel Bautista without December Avenue. It’s a copy of another copy, all xerox’d and no substantial material found.

I Belong to the Zoo's Sila is a product of a post-"Sila" SUD era. It's too damn similar to Di Makatulog, a product of "hugot" being prioritized over interesting songwriting.

Listen to the track right here:

 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page