top of page

TRCK OF THE WEEK: NIKKI NAVA - SECRETS


I've been busy the past couple of months and most of the time I just listen to the same old playlists or podcasts that I have on my phone. I haven't reviewed any new songs in a while and I'm really eager to pour my heart out to this beautifully-made single.

Indie folk has always been one of my favorite genres for being lyrical, melodic and story-oriented. Indie singer-songwriter Nikki Nava's first single entitled 'Secrets' really caught me to the core. I watched Nikki multiple times before when she sang for a couple of gigs for Ang Bandang Shirley and my first impression to her voice is that it's vulnerable and versatile. 'Secrets' is a conversation with someone you want to be honest with but I guess this person had a hard time sharing a part himself. My surface-level analysis on the lyrics is that there's an intention of getting to know someone genuinely but there are restraints in doing so. It's like borderline begging someone to open up to you. But this intimate song is not even a subtle 'sad' song, it's the story depends on your current situation and how you consume the lyrics. The line that really struck my chest was 'There are secrets you would tell me but it feels so painful every time I hear them', it's like getting that honesty you always wanted but at the same time it chips out a part of you everytime it's on the table.

The 5-minute single is just enough to hear how the guitars gently accompanied Nikki's voice. It was not overpowering, it's complementing. I cannot nitpick the instrumentals that much because I was so focused on her voice. I have this so-called test where I play a song in different platforms may it be through my laptop speakers or with my headset to hear or determine if a song is mixed well. And listening to 'Secrets' felt like I'm running through the song and I'm hearing all the parts properly. Throughout, the guitars slightly fill the song's burning sentiment with strands of vulnerability.

Drifting above gentle compositions, Nikki's voice is raw, emotive, sometimes atmospheric but always strong. It’s passionate and authentic, and wise beyond its years. If you listen to Phoebe Bridgers or Julien Baker, you would love this song. This swooningly beautiful song is just so tender and kind.

Support the Art & the Artist by listening to the single here:

 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page