top of page

TRCK REVIEW: Paper Satellites - You're Something Good For Me


Paper Satellites is a four-piece pop band from parts of Rizal Province and Quezon City, Metro Manila. I’ve been taking a short break from reviewing some local tracks lately due to the projects I have for the blog and some other personal stuff like the oncoming enrollment that I have to keep an eye out for since college is about to open in the next few months.

I got out of my ass from sitting in the couch all day and I happen to stumble upon a band that got me by the genre they’re playing in. Based on my radar, Paper Satellites has been getting into the gig circuit as of of late. For the reason alone I am curious to know but I decided to check their material in my spare time.

“You’re Something Good For Me” is their latest single and right off the bat, I find this track to be fairly decent than their previous material that featured some proper but offering-nothing-new type of rhythm section and common songwriting that we’ve heard before in their previous Saturday EP. But their latest single in the other has some decent elements thrown into it to make it sound a lot more engaging. Given that their lead vocals are eerily similar to Rico Blanco, added effort in the umph of the bass kick, and the mix of this single was rough on the edges that fitted the track’s dark themes.

Paper Satellites’ newest single slightly one-upped on their songwriting. I haven’t seen this band live just yet, and so far, their later material has potential that I can consider in seeing them live if I ever got the chance. Paper Satellites is a band that causes the fuzz in their latest single but the “fuzz” doesn’t live up to the fuzz-pop that I was expecting. But so far in their latest single, the first half got to me like a Franz Ferdinand track then the track suddenly segues into a laid back section, something that I would find an issue since the single was a banger throughout. Which made me doubt what direction they are really headed in? It was a bit scatterbrained but I enjoyed the ambition in here. Nevertheless, this single has potential and I’m looking forward where they’re going in the near future.

support the art & the artist by listening to the track right here:

 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page