top of page

ALBUM REVIEW: BECAUSE - HEARTBREAK SZN


“Heartbreak SZN” is the debut full-length release of rapper BJ Castillano aka Because that is now under the Viva Records Music Label along with producer Nexxfriday.

Lately, Because has been hitting it big in the local scene as of late. He's got a strong following, a bunch of record executives behind him, and a supportive family of rappers in the Rawstarr Records roster. I honestly see Because and his “trap soul” movement to be man-made rather than it being organic. Some say that it’s a “new generation” sound but I don’t see any difference since artists like Miguel, Kelela, SZA, and even Bryson Tiller (not a fan but he’s worth a citation) have been employing this sound for like 3 or 4 years now. So it doesn’t qualify to me as something “new”. I might be judgemental over the “trap soul” sound but let’s get into the project and see where it goes.

The first track “Intro” starts off the 13-track record, Because goes in but so far I don’t see any edge to his writing then all of a sudden this female singer takes in the last half of the song, which was weird but I’ll let it pass now. The second track and the lead single of this album “OTW” is one of my least favorite singles of this year. To my surprise, there’s no changes in the album version and it’s still the “two note” melody besides of the lazily written chorus in this track. The third track “Gilid” featuring rapper Kris Delano is the same song except the lyrics are creepier this time. I still don’t understand why lyrics like this don’t have that much impact in a contemporary beat. So far, I still don’t see any vocal effort by Because, it’s still him in the last 3 songs, it’s frustrating.

The fourth track “Marlboro Black”, which is also a single leading up this album, had some production improvements but it still doesn’t save for how shallow the song is. The track has only a snare and backing instruments like the piano but it still doesn’t save for how thinly made this track is, sadly. The fifth track “Saglit”, recently the music video of this track just hit a million views, and I might be the one person here that cannot finish the track halfway, I mean that does that still count that I’m one of the one million views that finished this track? I’ll never know but it’s still the same Because for like the goddarn fifth time now. The sixth track “Van” shows another side of Because, that is his lyrical game in under two minutes. It’s safe to say that I prefer this Because rather than the autotune crooner we get at the majority of the project and the seventh track “Hard to Get” is your “trap soul” filler.

“Sabihin Mo Na”, the eighth track of the album, featuring rapper FTD is sadly still the same track. The production seems like they’ve rehashed the hi-hats, bass kicks, and the piano synth leads. I do not recommend anyone who aspires to be a producer to repeat their songs in their full length record. The ninth track “Halili” is the same production but with a tropical vibe to it it’s as if they took notes from Migos or from Drake’s playbook. Not a great peg if you ask me.

The tenth track “Puyat” featuring singer Nicole Anjela, it’s pretty darn funny to me because the female vocals here has a lot more confidence but the both of them still a lot in common when it comes to vocal work but all of a sudden the track abruptly stopped. “Hanap” and “All I See” are just copies of one another, it’s a shame that there’s no signs of change nor improvement in the last 12 tracks here in “Heartbreak SZN”. The last track “Isa Pa” takes it up a notch by Because’s minimal effort in raising his voice, I mean I think I can call that change right? No? Well, so be it. I just thought this was an okay track.

Overall, Because’s album is a project where it’s just watered-down r&b with a torturing effect of redundancy. BJ’s vocals don’t carry that much emotional weight even if the autotune here is utilized so much. The production was nothing short of a generic trap-beat that is uninspiring. The written lyrics here are formulaic and that doesn’t mean r&b has no future after this project, there are more local releases that are more engaging than Because’s output, or rather, there’s more than the usual “trap soul” (or whatever genre that is, I wish that term should stay in its current generation and it should not remain as a permanent term later on) . “Heartbreak SZN” is your standard, cliched, “hugot” record that will not last for a long time.

Support the art & the artist by listening to the record in this YouTube playlist right here:

 Recent   
 Posts  
bottom of page